United Kingdom Eurovision Song Contest 2023

Eurovision Song Contest 2023

Following Kalush Orchestra’s triumph in Turin, Ukraine should customarily serve as the 2023 host nation for the Eurovision Song Contest. But the competition cannot be staged in Ukraine because of Russia’s invasion of the nation. Eurovision 2023 will instead be held in the United Kingdom, hosted by the BBC.

Also Read:- Beijing Launches 2023 Global Zodiac Design Competition

Where will Eurovision 2023 be held?

Since 1958, the host nation has generally been the victor and has chosen to make some exceptions.

Following Kalush Orchestra’s triumph in Turin, there was some doubt as to whether the competition could be held in Ukraine in May 2023 given Russia’s invasion of the nation.

The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) announced that Eurovision 2023 will not take place in Ukraine less than a month after Eurovision 2022 was completed.

Instead, the EBU began talks with the UK to host the 2023 Eurovision Song Contest, and on July 25 it was announced that the United Kingdom will host the event.

The seven cities competing to host the Eurovision Song Contest were announced on August 12; on September 27, the field was reduced to only two cities:

  • Glasgow
  • Liverpool

The BBC and EBU (European Broadcasting Union) will decide on the host city for Eurovision 2023 in the upcoming month.

When is Eurovision 2023?

The 2023 Eurovision will take place in May. The dates have not yet been made public.

Three shows will air throughout the Eurovision week: the Grand Final on Saturday, Semi-final 2 on Thursday, and Semi-final 1 on Tuesday.

The following days could be used for Eurovision 2023:

Semi-final 1

Semi-final 2

Grand Final

25 April 27 April 29 April
2 May 4 May 6 May
9 May 11 May 13 May
16 May 18 May 20 May
23 May 25 May 27 May

Participants 33 countries have expressed their interest for participation in the contest, which is subject to change:

  • Albania
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom

EBU Member Broadcasters have until mid-October 2022 to formally submit their applications to participate in Eurovision 2023 on behalf of their nations.


We anticipate that tickets for Eurovision 2023 will go on sale in the latter half of 2022 because they typically go on sale in November or December of the year prior. View more: How to purchase tickets for the 2023 Eurovision

Eurovision Village

The official festival area for the 2023 Eurovision Song Contest is called Eurovision Village.

You can see special events, live performances by musicians and DJs, and public broadcasts of the Arena shows in Eurovision Village.


The official afterparties, special events, and participant performances all take place at the EuroClub.


During Eurovision week, fans can gather at EuroCafe (sometimes referred to as Euro Fan Café) for parties and other events. The OGAE fan clubs manage EuroCafe.

Why will the United Kingdom host Eurovision 2023?

The 67th edition of our cherished competition will take place in the United Kingdom, as agreed upon back in July by the British broadcaster BBC, the Ukrainian broadcaster UA:PBC, and the EBU (European Broadcasting Union).

The decision to withdraw Ukraine as the 2023 host nation for the Eurovision Song Contest was made by the EBU due to safety and security concerns. Following discussions, the EBU offered the BBC to host Eurovision 2023 as the contest’s runner-up.

The competition will be held in the UK for the ninth time. Eight times already, mostly in the 1960s and 1970s, the Brits have hosted the Eurovision song contest.

  • 1960: London (Royal Festival Hall)
  • 1963: London (BBC Television Centre)
  • 1968: London (Royal Albert Hall)
  • 1972: Edinburgh (Usher Hall)
  • 1974: Brighton (The Dome)
  • 1977: London (Wembley Conference Centre)
  • 1982: Harrogate (Harrogate Conference Centre)
  • 1998: Birmingham (National Indoor Arena)


  • 2023: Glasgow or Liverpool

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons
error: Content is protected !!