fbpx

Holidays and Observances in Netherlands in 2023

Holidays and Observances in Netherlands in 2023

Do you reside in the Netherlands? Here is a list of every Dutch holiday you should be aware of in 2022 and 2023, along with other significant occasions you should mark on your calendar.

Also Read:- Holidays and Observances in Philippines in 2023

The dates of the Netherlands’ public holidays should be noted whether you live there or are just visiting because many companies usually close.

Our guide compiles a list of significant events for your calendar in addition to the public holidays observed in the Netherlands to make sure you don’t miss anything.

Introduction to Dutch public holidays

While several holidays in the Netherlands differ by location, there are significant national holidays in the Netherlands. For instance, there are various regional varieties of Dutch carnival held in Catholic areas between February and March. The biggest of all Dutch public holidays, Koningsdag is celebrated by all Dutch people as well as a large number of tourists.

It is crucial to keep in mind that if a Dutch holiday comes on a Saturday or Sunday, it is not normally moved to a different day of the week.

Holidays and Observances in Netherlands in 2023

Date   Name Type
1 Jan Sunday New Year’s Day Public Holiday
14 Feb Tuesday Valentine’s Day Observance
20 Mar Monday March Equinox Season
7 Apr Friday Good Friday Public Holiday
9 Apr Sunday Easter Sunday Public Holiday
10 Apr Monday Easter Monday Public Holiday
27 Apr Thursday King’s Birthday Public Holiday
4 May Thursday Remembrance Day Observance
5 May Friday Liberation Day Public Sector
14 May Sunday Mother’s Day Observance
18 May Thursday Ascension Day Public Holiday
28 May Sunday Whit Sunday Public Holiday
29 May Monday Whit Monday Public Holiday
18 Jun Sunday Father’s Day Observance
21 Jun Wednesday June Solstice Season
1 Jul Saturday Keti Koti Observance
23 Sep Saturday September Equinox Season
5 Dec Tuesday St Nicholas’ Eve/Sinterklaas Observance
6 Dec Wednesday St Nicholas’ Day Observance
22 Dec Friday December Solstice Season
24 Dec Sunday Christmas Eve Observance
25 Dec Monday Christmas Day Public Holiday
26 Dec Tuesday Second Day of Christmas Public Holiday
31 Dec Sunday New Year’s Eve Observance

Dutch public holidays in 2022

  • 1 January (Saturday): New Year’s Day (Nieuwjaarsdag)
  • 15 April (Friday): Good Friday (Goede Vrijdag) – only for government workers – not an official public holiday, however
  • 18 April (Monday): Easter Monday (Pasen)
  • 27 April (Wednesday): King’s Day (Koningsdag)
  • 4 May (Wednesday): National Remembrance Day (Dodenherdenking) – not an official holiday, however
  • 5 May (Thursday): Liberation Day (Bevrijdingsdag) – celebrated every year, but only an official holiday every five years
  • 26 May (Thursday): Ascension (Hemelvaart)
  • 6 June (Monday): Whit Monday/Pentecost (Pinksteren)
  • 25 December (Sunday): Christmas Day (Eerste Kerstdag)
  • 26 December (Monday): Boxing Day/Second Day of Christmas (Tweede Kerstdag)

Important dates in the Netherlands in 2022

  • 27 March (Sunday): Clocks go forward one hour as daylight saving time starts
  • 8 May (Sunday): Mother’s Day
  • 19 June (Sunday): Father’s Day
  • 1 July (Friday): Keti Koti – a day marking the end of slavery in Suriname, not an official holiday
  • 30 October (Sunday): Clocks go back one hour as daylight saving time ends
  • 11 November (Friday): Sint Maarten’s Day – when children typically go singing from door to door in exchange for sweets, vaguely reminiscent of Halloween
  • 6 December (Tuesday): Sinterklaas (Sint arrives in the Netherlands in mid-November) – not an official holiday

Dutch public holidays in 2023

  • 1 January (Sunday): New Year’s Day (Nieuwjaarsdag)
  • 7 April (Friday): Good Friday (Goede Vrijdag) – only for government workers – not an official public holiday, however
  • 10 April (Monday): Easter Monday (Pasen)
  • 27 April (Thursday): King’s Day (Koningsdag)
  • 5 May (Friday): Liberation Day (Bevrijdingsdag) – celebrated every year, but only an official holiday every five years
  • 18 May (Thursday): Ascension (Hemelvaart)
  • 29 May (Monday): Whit Monday/Pentecost (Pinksteren)
  • 25 December (Monday): Christmas Day (Eerste Kerstdag)
  • 26 December (Tuesday): Boxing Day/Second Day of Christmas (Tweede Kerstdag)

Important dates in the Netherlands in 2023

  • 26 March (Sunday): Clocks go forward one hour as daylight saving time starts
  • 4 May (Thursday): National Remembrance Day (Dodenherdenking) – not an official holiday
  • 8 May (Sunday): Mother’s Day
  • 19 June (Sunday): Father’s Day
  • 1 July (Saturday): Keti Koti – a day marking the end of slavery in Suriname, not an official holiday
  • 30 October (Sunday): Clocks go back one hour as daylight saving time ends
  • 11 November (Saturday): Sint Maarten’s Day – when children typically go singing from door to door in exchange for sweets, vaguely reminiscent of Halloween
  • 5 December (Tuesday): Sinterklaas (Sint arrives in the Netherlands in mid-November) – not an official holiday

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons
error: Content is protected !!