fbpx

Canadian Statutory Holidays 2023

Canadian Statutory Holidays 2023

You may find general information and specifics about Canadian holidays for 2023 on this page. On Saturday, it will be Canada Day. However, if you often work on Saturdays, you should check with your company regarding this day to avoid any surprises. Most Monday through Friday businesses will give Friday off in substitute.

Also Read:- Bank of Canada- Upcoming Events 2022-2023

Easter in 2023 falls on April 7 (Good Friday) and April 9 (Easter Sunday), roughly in the middle of Family Day and Victoria Day.

This year, Remembrance Day will fall on a weekend, allowing everyone to participate in ceremonies honouring those who served in the military, including in Ontario, where it is still not a statutory holiday.

Christmas in 2023 falls on a Monday with Boxing Day falling on the following Tuesday. This makes holiday planning simpler because, in years when Christmas falls on a weekend, there is sometimes controversy about and even misunderstanding about which days are paid vacations.

Also Read:- Bank of Canada Holiday

In 2021, September 30—a Saturday this year—will be honoured as the new National Day for Truth and Reconciliation. Due to the fact that it is only for employees who fall under government regulation, this holiday has replaced others as the most divisive occasion. Given that Remembrance Day is not a holiday in Ontario, it comes in second.

List of Canadian holidays in 2023

Holiday Date in 2023 Observance
New Year’s Day January 1, Sunday National
Islander Day February 20, Monday PEI
Louis Riel Day February 20, Monday MB
Heritage Day February 20, Monday NS
Family Day February 20, Monday BC, AB, SK, ON, NB
Valentine’s Day February 14, Tuesday Not an official holiday
Leap Day
St. Patrick’s Day March 17, Friday Not a stat holiday
Good Friday April 7, Friday National except QC
Easter Monday April 10, Monday QC
Mother’s Day May 14, Sunday Not an official holiday
Victoria Day May 22, Monday National except NB, NS, NL
Father’s Day June 18, Sunday Not an official holiday
Aboriginal Day June 21, Wednesday NWT
St. Jean Baptiste Day June 24, Saturday QC
Canada Day July 1, Saturday National
Civic Holiday August 7, Monday AB, BC, SK, ON, NB, NU
Labour Day September 4, Monday National
National Day for Truth and Reconciliation September 30, Saturday National, federally regulated workplaces only
Thanksgiving October 9, Monday National except NB, NS, NL
Halloween October 31, Tuesday Not an official holiday
Remembrance Day November 11, Saturday National except MB, ON, QC, NS
Christmas Day December 25, Monday National
Boxing Day December 26, Tuesday ON

2023 is not a leap year.

In 2023, the majority of school boards will begin the academic year on September 5, one day following Labor Day.

2023’s DST will begin on Sunday, March 12, and terminate on Sunday, November 5.

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons
error: Content is protected !!